Odisha Initiates Steps For Sustainable Management Of Minor Minerals

Bhubaneswar: In another step towards sustainable and more disciplined supply of minor minerals for public, private and industrial use, Odisha Government has initiated steps for formulating a more progressive policy with best practices from different States.

This was discussed in a high level meeting held under the chairmanship of Chief Secretary Asit Tripathy at Lokseba Bhawan conference hall today wherein the study teams that recently visited different States presented their reports.

Considering the reports, Tripathy directed the Additional Chief Secretary Revenue & Disaster Management Pradipta Kumar Mohapatra, present in the meeting, to work out a definite policy proposal customizing the best practices in Odisha context.

Replying to a media query after the meeting, Tripathy said, “In our State a separate Directorate has been set up for regulation of minor minerals like sand, moram, cheap etc. Presently, these sairat sources are being managed and monitored by the respective Tahasildars under the direct supervision of district administration. Study teams were sent to four different states like Punjab, Rajasthan, Telengana and Karnataka to have a field level knowledge of the practices adopted in those States. The study teams presented their reports today. These will be further analysed and customized in Odisha context. These inputs will be helpful in formulation of a more dynamic and need based policy”.

Discussions in the meeting showed that the Team led by Special Secretary Revenue & Disaster Management R.N. Palei and Additional Secretary Avaya Nayak visited Punjab and Rajasthan from December 16 to 21, 2019. Similarly, the team lead by Special Secretary Shashadhar Nayak visited Telengana and Karnataka from December 18 to 22, 2019.

The teams collected detail practices about demand supply management, auction process excavation, supply chain, price capping, end use etc. prevalent in those States. These would be scrutinized in the perspective of the minor minerals available in Odisha.

Additional Chief Secretary Steel & Mines Raj Kumar Sharma, Additional Chief Secretary and Agriculture Production Commissioner P.K. Mohapatra along with members of the Study team and senior officers of Revenue & Disaster Management Department participated in the deliberations.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button