Fire broke out at a plastic factory near Kanheibindha village in Soro
Elephants destroy two houses, damage paddy at Goda village in Khurda
7 armed Maoists allegedly loot 3 guns, 7 mobiles in Nayagarh
Excise sleuths seize 45gm brown sugar worth around Rs 5 lakh in Bhubaneswar
Patkura Assembly elections under Kendrapara LS to be held on May 19

Odisha: Mayurbhanj Zilla Parishad Zone Bypoll Underway

06 December 2018


Baripada: Amid tight security, voting for the by-election to Zilla Parishad zone -32 of the Bijatala block in Mayurbhanj district is being held today since 7 am to noon.

The polling is being held at 82 booths in five panchayats– Bijatala, Mundathakura, Banakati, Raihari and Luhasila and as per reports, as many as 23,119 voters will decide the fate of 10 poll candidates in these panchayats.

Seven platoons of police force have been deployed and around 10 polling parties are carrying out the election duty. Meanwhile the ASP and SDPO are also monitoring the situation in the area smooth conduct of the election process with constant monitoring of the 10 sensitive booths.

According to sources, the results are to be declared tomorrow.

In 2017 panchayat polls, BJP had won the Zilla Parishad zone no-32 whereas the JMM and BJD stood second and third. After the death of the BJP’s winning candidate Chhotray Marandi, the by-poll was necessitated as the seat fell vacant.

Also Read: Odisha: Crater Develops In Talcher, Locals Observe Bandh Protesting Mining Woes

Related News