Odisha On Path To Become Badminton Hub

Bhubaneswar: The State government is focusing on making Odisha a Badminton hub, said BJD’s Rairakhol MLA and Deputy Government Chief Whip Rohit Pujari after being re-elected as the President of Orissa State Badminton Association (OSBA).

The newly elected office bearers and council members of OSBA assumed office on Sunday in presence of Badminton Association of India (BAI) observers like Secretary (Events) Omar Rashid, Secretary (Coaching & Development) KN Jaiswal and Joint Secretary K Prabhakar.

This is the beginning, with Gopichand academy and eight new courts coming up soon in Bhubaneswar, Badminton will grow many folds, said Pujari while adding, “Honourable Chief Minister’s dream of making Odisha the Sports capital of India will surely come true.”

Immediately after assuming charges, the newly elected office bearers of OSBA in the first executive body meeting, pledged to work towards the development of Odisha Badminton in future and take the badminton of the state to new height.

BAI observers present in the meeting congratulated the newly elected office bearers and hoped that Odisha will become a Badminton powerhouse. They also focused on the upcoming Sub-Junior Nationals (Under 15 & 17 Yrs) at Bhubaneswar from December 17th to 22nd 2019.

Significantly, Odisha is hosting the national sub-junior tournament for the first time. It was also resolved that an affiliation committee would soon be formed, with an objective of including all other leftover districts of the state in the OSBA.

The sub-junior Nationals is also being organised in collaboration with the sports department and the event will be at par with recent track record of hosting premier sports events in different sports in Odisha.  

The names and designations of the office bearers and council members of OSBA are as follows;

1. President – Rohit Pujari

2. Working President – Mihir Ray

3. Vice President – Pradip Kumar Pattnaik

4. Honorary Secretary – Nileen Kumar

5. Joint Secretary – Sushant Bal

6. Joint Secretary – Sandeep Mishra

7. Honorary Treasurer – Pradeep Kumar Mohanty

8. Council Member – Manoranjan Das

9. Council Member – Md Fiaz Zafar

10. Council Member – Biswaranjan Dalai


Related Articles

Back to top button