Odisha: Patkura MLA & BJD Candidate Bed Prakash Agarwalla No More

Bhubaneswar: Ruling Biju Janata Dal’s (BJD) candidate for Patkura Assembly constituency and the current legislator from the same seat Bed Prakash Agarwalla breathed his last at 82 years of age in a private hospital here today morning.

Reportedly, he had been unwell for several days and was undergoing treatment. His family members informed that his last rites will be performed in the holy dham of Puri. Agarwalla was elected to Odisha Legislative Assembly from Patkura seat in 2009 and 2014 as BJD candidate.

He had been elected MLA four other times from Kendrapara Assembly seat- In 2000, as BJP candidate; in 1990, as Janata Dal candidate; in 1977, as Janata Party candidate and in 1974, as Utkal Congress candidate. He was also former finance minister of Odisha.

It is notable to mention here that Agarwalla was contesting from Patkura Assembly seat against Congress’ Jayant Mohanty and BJP’s Bijoy Mohapatra.

The polling in Patkura Assembly, which is scheduled in the fourth phase on April 29, is expected to be rescinded following Agarwalla’s demise. 


Related Articles

Back to top button