Maharashtra, Haryana to go to polls on Oct 21, counting on Oct 24

Odisha Polls-2019: BJD’s Patkura MLA Candidate Sabitri Agarwalla Files Nomination

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

30 April 2019


Kendrapada: A day after BJD president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik announced the party candidate’s name for the ensuing Patkura Assembly Constituency (AC), Sabitri Agarwalla submitted her nomination papers with the Returning Officer here today.

Sabitri Devi filed her nomination papers before the Returning Officer-cum-Kendrapada Sub-Collector as the Election Commission has re-scheduled the poll dates for Patkura AC on May 19 and the formality of filing of nominations began from today.

Notably, Sabitri Devi is the widow of ex-BJD candidate Bed Prakash Agarwalla whose sudden demise recently had compelled the Election Commission to adjourn Patkura’s poll date to May 19 instead of April 29.

On the other hand, polling to rest of the ACs under the Kendrapada Parliamentary Constituency (PC) as well as the PC itself has already been conducted on April 29, barring Patkura AC.