Odisha Polls-2019: Districts Gear Up For Vote Counting On May 23

Cuttack/Dhenkanal: With all eyes set on the counting of votes scheduled to be held tomorrow (May 23), district and police administrations across Odisha have geared up the arrangements.

Cuttack Collector-cum-Election Officer Aravind Agrawal informed that while counting for Banki assembly constituency will be held at Banki Autonomous College, counting for Athgarh and Badamba Assembly constituencies will be held at Gopabandhu Science College in Athgarh and counting for remaining six constituencies will be held at Bhubanananda Orissa School of Engineering (BOSE) in Cuttack.

The postal ballot counting will start at 8 AM following which the EVM counting will commence at 8:30 AM. As mobile phones have been barred in the counting halls, counting agents will be requested not to bring mobile phones. Landline will be provided for communication purpose and arrangements have been done for visual display and announcement of results.

Two-tier security system has been provided at the counting centres with Odisha Police at outer layer and Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) near the counting halls. Besides, micro-observers appointed by the Election Commission will remain present at each counting table, said Agrawal.

Dhenkanal Collector-cum-Election Officer Nikhil Pavan Kalyan informed that all the contesting candidates, their agents and counting agents have been sensitized ahead of the counting.

While the safety of the counting halls and strong room are reviewed twice daily, the strong room will be opened tomorrow by the Returning Officers in presence of the counting agents and the counting will start exactly at 8 AM.

Initially, the postal ballots will be counted and later the counting of EVMs will run parallely. The candidates will be notified about the results after getting round wise information.

The Returning Officers (ROs) of Kamakhyanagar, Parjang, Hindol and Dhenkanal will announce the results of the respective assembly constituencies. The result of the parliamentary constituency will be announced at the district headquarters in his presence, said Kalyan.

Dhenkanal SP Anupama James informed three-tier security cordon has been set up at the three counting centres. While the first cordon will be manned by district police, second by the State Armed Police and third by Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF).

Total nine platoons of force, including three platoons of paramilitary, have been deployed. Entry of mobile phones and other electronic gadgets have been barred.

Other then checking of ID cards, the persons entering the counting halls will be personally frisked with use of Door Frame Metal Detector (DFMD) and Hand Held Metal Detector (HHMD), said James.

Twin City Police Commissioner Satyajit Mohanty informed that counting in Bhubaneswar will be held at BJB College where three-tier security arrangements are put in place including personnel of CAPF, OSAP and Bhubaneswar UPD.

As the counting will take time adequate lighting system has been put at place. Police personnel will also be deployed at sensitive areas in the city along with headquaters of different political parties. 

Around 20 platoon force will be deployed in the city along with 100 officers to maintain law and order in the city, said Mohanty.