Odisha Polls-2019: EC Holds 2-Day Workshop For Returning Officers Before May 23 Counting & Results

Bhubaneswar: While the four-phased votings to the general elections (both Lok Sabha and Assembly) have already been over in Odisha except the Patkura assembly constituency and all the sealed EVMs are now in the heavily guarded strong rooms of 30 districts across the State here, the Election Commission of India (ECI) today began its two-day long training programme for the returning officers.

The training programme for the Returning Officers (ROs) began today under the auspices of Odisha Chief Electoral Offcer (CEO) here for counting of votes and declaration of results on the scheduled date of May 23.

As many as 79 ROs from the 11 districts have attended today’s “Orientation-cum-Training Workshop for ROs of Parliamentary Constituency (PC)/Assembly Constituency (AC) and District Election Officer (DEO) & Collectors” of Group A at Geeta Govinda Sadan (Back side of Jaydev Bhawan) here.    

The districts are Bolangir, Kalahandi, Cuttack, Khurda, Ganjam, Koraput, Mayurbhanj, Sundargarh, Keonjhar, Balasore, Jagatsinghpur.