Odisha Records 73.76% Polling In Phase-I Polls, CEO Recommends Re-Polling In 2 Booths

Bhubaneswar: Several hours after completion of phase-I polls, the final polling record in Odisha has turned out to be 73.76%, informed Chief Election Officer Surendra Kumar here today.

The percentage turnout was as follows- Male- 73.09%, Females- 74.43% and Others- 11.25%. In Nabarangpur, the voter turnout was highest and stands at 78.89%. Kalahandi recorded 75.82%, Koraput recorded 74.77% and Berhampur recorded 65.57%.

Meanwhile, Kotpad block has registered highest voting percentage of 86.83% and the lowest was recorded in Berhampur Assembly constituency at 56.34%.

Kumar said, “We have recommended re-polling in two booths- one in Malkangiri and the other in Berhampur. Some miscreants entered a booth and tossed an EVM machine on the ground. The machine broke, therefore we cannot say what results will come out of the machine. In the other booth, there was negligence of duty by the Presiding Officer.”

He also mentioned that several polling officers returned today and voting was carried out till 9 pm in some booths on Thursday covering all the people in queue, as per ECI guidelines.

According to media reports, 15 booths in Malkangiri had recorded zero voter turnout however, the CEO said that the officers are still taking the figures and only after that they will be able to confirm the number.

In the first phase polls of the world’s biggest festival of democracy, people of four Lok Sabha and 28 assembly constituencies in Odisha cast their votes. The Parliamentary constituencies that elected their representatives are: Kalahandi, Koraput, Nabarangpur and Berhampur.