Odisha To Host 68th All India Police Hockey Championship

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Police is organising the 68th edition of All India Police Hockey Championship-2019 at Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar from December 16 to 24, 2019.

The mega annual sporting event will witness competition between 25 teams consisting of 500 players. Besides, 200 officials and trainers from Police Organisations of different States, Union Territories and Central Armed Police Forces will be attending the event.

While, 50 Technical Officials have been roped in to conduct the championship, it will be organised under the aegis of ‘All India Police Sports Control Board’. Sports and Youth Services department of Odisha is providing necessary support in the shape of technical manpower and material to make this event a grand success.

Odisha Hockey Association is providing required logistics and technical support. The Mascot for the Asian Athletic Championship and World Cup Hockey ‘Olly’ representing the rare Olive Ridley Turtle has been taken as the Mascot of the event as well.

The opening and closing ceremony of the championship will be held at 7th OSAP Battalion ground, Bhubaneswar. The opening function will be held on December 16 and the closing function will be on December 24.

DGP Abhay will be the Chief Guest in the opening function and Minister of State for Home Department, Dibya Shankar Mishra, will be the Chief Guest on the Closing Ceremony. A souvenir will be published in memory of the championship.

Separate committees have been formed under the leadership of Senior Officers of State Police for better co-ordination and management of the event. DGP Abhay is the Chairman of the Organising Committee. Twin City Commissioner of Police Sudhanshu Sarangi and ADGP (Hdqrs) VT Mishra are the Vice-Chairman of the organising committee.

IGP (Operation) Amitabh Thakur is the Organising Secretary of the championship who is monitoring the preparatory arrangement on a daily basis. There are Committees like Reception Committee, Accommodation Committee, Souvenir Committee, Media and Publicity Committee, Refreshment Committee, Transport Committee, Finance Committee, Medical Committee etc for smooth management of the event.

Senior Officers like RP Koche, Saumendra Priyadarshi, Rekha Lohani, JN Pankaj, Anirudh Singh, Anup Kumar Sahoo are heading different Committees. Players and officials have been accommodated at different locations of Bhubaneswar.

Since this championship is being organised for the first time by Odisha Police and the fact that a large number of players and officials will participate in the Championship, DGP has categorically called upon all the officers to work with sincerity and seriousness for success of the programme.


Related Articles

Back to top button