Odisha’s Birendra Lakra To Lead Team India At Hero Men’s Asia Cup

Bhubaneswar: Experienced defender Birendra Lakra from Odisha is to lead the Indian Men’s Hockey Team at the Hero Men’s Asia Cup to be held from 23 May 2022 in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Birendra will replace Rupinder Pal Singh as Captain of the 20-member squad. Rupinder has been ruled out of the tournament as he sustained an injury on his wrist during a training session.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik congratulated Birendra on being selected to lead the Indian Men’s Hockey Team.

While forward SV Sunil will step in as the Vice-Captain, Rupinder will be replaced by defender Nilam Sanjeep Xess, also from Odisha, for the tournament. Two other Odia players in the team are Dipsan Tirkey and Abhisek Lakra.

The Indian Men’s Team now includes the following players:

Pankaj Kumar Rajak
Suraj Karkera

Yashdeep Siwach
Abhisek Lakra
Birendra Lakra (Captain)
Dipsan Tirkey

Vishnukant Singh
Raj Kumar Pal
Mareeswaren Sakthivel
Sheshe Gowda BM
Simranjeet Singh

Pawan Rajbhar
Abharan Sudev
SV Sunil (Vice Captain)
Uttam Singh
S. Karthi
Nilam Sanjeep Xess