Parala MLA Narayan Rao Joins BJP, Daspalla MLA Purna Nayak Also Quits BJD, Nabin Nanda Joins Congress

**Bhubaneswar: ** A day after tendering resignation from Biju Janata Dal (BJD), sitting MLA of Paralakhemundi K. Narayan Rao today joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) along with his supporters.

In his media reactions soon after embracing BJP, the former BJD leader said, “About 65 PRI members comprising 30 Sarpanchs, 32 Samiti Members, 3 Zilla Parishad members, 2 block chairmen and all party presidents of panchayat level, Youth and Student wings tendered resignation en masse from BJD. We all decided to join BJP. Yesterday resigned from BJD and today joined BJP.”

“Being attracted by PM Modi’s developmental spree, his steps being taken for India and against Pakistan, reforms like financial for India’s benefit, etc, we joined BJP,” he opined.

Similarly, sitting Daspalla MLA Purna Chandra Nayak also tendered his resignation from BJD after being denied ticket to re-contest this time.

In his reactions, the Daspalla MLA said, “The list of BJD lacks my name that was announced for the 2019 election. I’m the sitting MLA and was given BJD ticket to contest the 2014 election. I had won the election with a lead of 57,000 vote margin.”

“All the party programmes have been done very impressively in my constituency for the last five years. All the party wokers are with me. We had won 6 out of 6 seats in the Zilla Parishad election. But, the candidate who has been give ticket in my place is a tainted person for amassing over Rs 7 crore meant for the development of ST and SC population. Hence, we have decided to contest 2019 election from BJP. If not given ticket, I’ll contest as an independent candidate.” he informed media.

On the other hand, former Dhenkanal MLA Nabin Nanda today joined Congress. Apart from not being given party ticket to contest the 2014 general election, he was also later suspended from BJD following his arrest in Kolkata last year.

Also on the day, former BJD leader Kusum Tete from Sundargarh, Aska MLA Debaraj Mohanty, former MP Laxman Tudu, several Zilla Parishad members, Samiti Members and Sarpanchs joined BJP.

**Also Read:** [BJP Brags Of Mission 120+ In Odisha, Yet To Find Candidates: BJD](

**Also Read:** [Kandhamal MP Pratyusha Rajeshwari Singh Quits BJD