4 Accused In DISHA Gang Rape And Murder Case Shot Dead

Phase-I Polls: Voting Begins In 4 Lok Sabha & 28 Assembly Constituencies Of Odisha

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

11 April 2019


Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Berhampur/Malkangiri/Rayagada: In the first phase polls of the world’s biggest festival of democracy, people of four Lok Sabha and 28 assembly constituencies in Odisha are all set to elect their representatives. The Parliamentary constituencies that are deciding their fate today are: Kalahandi, Koraput, Nabarangpur and Berhampur.

 Similarly, the assembly seats that are polling today are- Bhawanipatna, Junagarh, Dharmagarh, Narla, Nuapada, Khariar, Lanjigarh, Umerkote, Dabugam, Kotpad, Chitrakonda, Nabarangpur, Jharigam and Malkangiri. Chhatrapur, Gopalpur, Berhampur, Digapahandi, Chikiti, Paralakhemundi, Mohana, Gunupur, Bissam Cuttack, Rayagada, Lakshmipur, Koraput, Jeypore and Pottangi assembly constituencies are also voting today.

While voting started on time at 7 am in most places, there were technical difficulties in some booths due to which polling began few minutes later. By 6 pm in the evening, the process is expected to be complete.

The number of polling stations set up are 7233 while total electors are 60,03,707 out of which the number of male voters 29,72,925, female voters 30,30,222, third gender 560, service electors 4975 (male 4863 and female 112).

For the Phase-I, total number of polling personnel deployed are 47,805 (male 47115 and female 690). Number of polling stations with all women polling personnel are 30, vehicles deployed 8877. Number of critical polling station 2375.

In Kalahandi, Biju Janata Dal’s Pushpendra Singh Deo, Bharatiya Janata Party’s Basant Kumar Panda and Congress’ Bhakta Charan Das. In Nabarangpur, the fight between is between three Majhis- BJD’s Ramesh Majhi, BJP’s Balabhadra Majhi and Congress’ Pradeep Majhi. In Koraput, BJD’s Koushalya Hikaka is going against BJP’s Jayram Pangi and Congress’ Saptagiri Ulka. In Berhampur, the fight is among BJD’s Chandrasekhar Sahu, BJP’s Bhrugu Baxipatra and Congress’ V Chandrasekhar Naidu.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Voting in Berhampur