Phase-IV Polls: Technical Glitches In EVMs & VVPATs Delay Voting In Several Booths

Balasore/Jajpur/Kendrapara: Technical glitches in Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPATs) left many voters disgruntled in the fourth and final phase of elections as voting process got delayed in several booths.

Voting was delayed due to EVM glitches in booth no 138 under Balikuda-Erasama constituency in Jagatsinghpur district. Reports stated that voting was also delayed due to technical snag in machines of booth no 219, 268 in Kakatpur, booth no 42, 66 of Nimapara, booth no 214 in Paradip, multiple places in Kujanga. Machines in booths 102 and 103 at Jagatsinghpur Municipality and booths 29 and 40 of Jagatsinghpur also faced technical snag.

In Jajpur, similar problems reported from booth no 115 of Dharmasala, booth no 110 of Bari & booth no 96 of Jajpur. Similarly, the EVMs failed at booth number 221 of Sukinda, booth 184 in Binjharpur, booth 84, 68 and 199 in Korei.

In Balasore, technical glitches in Vidhan Sabha VVPAT machine in booth 72 of Simulia.  Similar problems reported in booth 125 of Trilochanpur and other Simulia booths like 119, 109 and 110. Voting was also delayed in booths no 5 and 203 in Ulumara and Natakata panchayats respectively due to glitches in VVPAT machines. Booth 144 at Sahadevkhunta, booth 113 at Sunahat, booth 93 and 137 in Nilagiri, booth 35 in Remuna, booth 119 at Soro, booth 126 at Seragarh and booth 140 in Balasore district also reported similar problems.

In Kendrapara, EVM malfunction was reported at booths no 226 & 128 in Aul, booth 101 at Salepur, booth no 213 in Aienda of Mahang, booth 87 at Mahakalpara, booth 179 at Bagada, and booth 57 at Padanipal. EVMs at booths no 68, 226 and 112 in Rajnagar of Kendrapara also developed technical snag.

In Mayurbhanj, voting got delayed in multiple booths- 16, 34 & 35 in Baripada, 33, 203 in Bangiriposi, 102 and 22 in Badasahi, 142 and 197 in Rairangpur, 39 and 60 in Saraskana.

Voting was also delayed at booth number 181, 185, 222, 244, 245, 54, and 243 following EVM malfunction under Dhamnagar Assembly constituency in Bhadrak. Similar problems were seen at booth number 71, 183, 1 98, 220 in Bhandaripokhari; booths no 2, 46, 208, 50 in Soro; booths 69, 114,116 in Basudevpur; booths 216,14 and 239 in Chandbali due to technical glitches.

The delay killed the spirit of many enthusiastic first time voters and several senior citizens were also kept waiting. The polling booth officials immediately began the repair work in all the booths and assured that the voting process would start soon.

Polling started in 6 Lok Sabha (Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara and Jagatsinghpur) and 41 Assembly seats of Odisha from 7 am onwards. It is expected to gain momentum with progress of the day and will continue till 6 pm.