15 rooms gutted after fire breaks out at Agiragadia village in Bhadrak
Ranji Player Natraj Behera Announces Retirement
3 persons are critically injured in accident in Puri
India win 3rd Test match against South Africa

Rajya Sabha Bye-Elections: Speculation Over Candidate Names From Odisha

16 June 2019

Mohammed Ishtiyaque

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: The States of Bihar, Gujarat and Odisha are going to face the bye-elections to Rajya Sabha possibly on July 5, 2019 following six casual vacancies in the upper house.

With three seats in the Council of States or Rajya Sabha falling vacant from Odisha, names of Prasanna Kumar Patasani and Arup Patnaik are doing rounds to be nominated as BJD candidates.

Reportedly, BJD supremo-cum-Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik had assured former Bhubaneswar MP Prasanna Patasani a Rajya Sabha seat while fielding four members of the upper house in the recent Lok Sabha and Odisha assembly polls.

However, Patasani said he has not received any such offer yet but has full faith on the Chief Minister who is true to his word, because of which people of Odisha have elected him for the fifth term.

Former Mumbai Police commissioner Arup Patnaik, who was defeated in the recent Lok Sabha polls, said he has no idea over his nomination to the Rajya Sabha, but being a man from a disciplined background is always ready to follow the instruction of the Chief Minister.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Prasanna Patasani, Ex-MP, Bhubaneswar

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Arup Patnaik, Ex-Police Commissioner, Mumbai