Regional Conference On Replication Of Best Practices For Good Governance Begins In Bhubaneswar

Bhubaneswar: Regional Conference on Replication of Good Governanace Practices for north-eastern and eastern States of India has been inaugurated in the convention hall of Lokseba Bhawan here today morning. Fifteen States – Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Maghlaya, Manipur, Sikkim, Mizoram, Tripura, Jharkhand, Bihar, West Bengal, Chhatisgarh, Andhra Pradesh and Odisha have participated in it. This two days event will be held in eight sessions including the inaugural session. The conference is being held in both the physical and virtual modes.

In his address to the inaugural session, Secretary Administrative Reforms and Public Grievance ( AR and PG), Sanjay Singh said, “Odisha has nurtured many good governance practices. The State is cradle of innovative initiatives like Office automation through OSWAN, e-offices, Mo Sarkar, Sporting excellence, Online delivery of public services under Right to Public Services Act, Disaster management, and the like. Other States also successfully applied many other innovative practices.

Singh added, “The regional conference has a very important role in documentation and replication of these best practices for good governance throughout the country.”

The Prime Ministers award for best practices rolled out by Government of India received majority of the innovative representations from various districts of the country. He emphasized on “integration of these best practices with the whole system of good governance so as to have its multiplier effect.”

Addressing the conference, Chief Secretary Suresh Chandra Mahapatra said, “Time bound delivery of public services is a basic requirement of good governance. The prime duty of public servants is to work in this direction in the best possible way.”

Mahapatra added, “In recent days there is heightened aspirations and expectations of people from Government system. The present generation wants quick delivery of the services at par with private sector services and the Government system has to update itself for meeting the new expectations.” He also said that the “conferences of this type benefits all of us as we learn from each other.” Further, Mahapatra said that during these two days the delegates would have the best sharing of experiences and direct exposure to the major events taking place in Odisha.

Presenting the welcome address Special Secretary, AR and PG V. Srinivas said, “Odisha has been a model of good governanace practices.” He added, “Objective of this conference is to find the ways and means for replicating the best practices from different State and central initiatives throughout the country for transforming the public service system.”

Addressing the inaugural session, Additional Chief Secretary, Government of Odisha Sri Sanjeev Chopra highlighted the need for development of an institutional structure to “catch, continuance and replicate the innovative initiatives implemented successfully in various parts of the country”. Chopra also presented the votes of thanks in the inaugural session.

There were five sessions in first day of the seminar. The 2nd session following the inauguration was held with Principal Secretary Water Resources, Government of Odisha Anu Garg in the Chair, Collector, Solapur from Maharashtra Milind Shambarkar presented the best practice on water conservation initiative applied in the district. This was followed by the presentation on SOIL-The SOUL of Life by Thiru P. Madhusudan Reddy, Collector Sivaganga of Tamilnadu.

Rahul Dev from Chhatisgrah presented the innovative intitiative on Sakshayam Surajpur.

In the next session, four presentations on e-Sanjeevani, expanding e-governance, seamless service delivery, clean energy were made by Dr Parveen Kumar Khosla, Executive director C-DAC; Lt. Col. A.K. Singh from Ministry of External Affairs; Ajay Kumar Regional PF Commissioner; and Dr Sangeeta M. Kasture, Scientist department of Bio-Technology respectively under Chairmanship of V Srinivas Special Secretary AR and PG, Government of India.

The fourth session was chaired by N.B.S. Rajput, Joint Secretary AR and PG. The presentations on cashless Haryana, Business Transforming IT tools of Mdhya Pradesh, Poshan umbrella for supply chain through Tech-innovation of Gujrat, and Rajsthan Agricultural Competitiveness Project were made in this session.

The last session was held under the chairmanship of Swadheen Kshatriya, State Chief Commissioner of Right to Services, Maharashtra. In this session the best practices on Zero Pendency of Jalndhar district, Punjab; Reach-out Programme of Kasaragod district, Kerala; One district-One Number of Sambalpur district, Odisha; and, Improving service delivery and Redressal of Public Grievances of Sirohi district, Rajsthan were presented and discussed.