Rewind 2018: Top Political News That Hogged Headlines In Odisha

**Bhubaneswar: ** Even though “Time and Tide wait for none”, certain happenings leave behind its foot prints and memories. In this context, political events assume significance in the largest democracy like India as well as its province of Odisha.

Here are some significant political developments of outgoing 2018.

**1. Baijayant Panda Suspended from BJD/Resigns:** After a string of allegations ranging from anti-party activities to arbitrary utilisation of MPLAD funds surfaced against Lok Sabha Member Baijayant Panda, Odisha Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik suspended him from the primary membership of the party on January 24. Later on he resigned from BJD and tendered resignation as Kendrapara MP and sent his resignation letter to Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on June 12.

Read: [Kendrapada MP Baijayant Panda Suspended From Biju Janata Dal](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/kendrapada-mp-baijayant-panda-suspended-from-biju-janata-dal/odia)

As announced earlier during the tendering of resignation from BJD, Kendrapara MP Baijayant Panda on Tuesday (June 12) tendered his resignation from Lok Sabha and sent his resignation letter to Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan. Such a development took place months after he was suspended from BJD.

Read: [Baijayant Panda Tenders His Resignation Letter To Lok Sabha Speaker](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/baijayant-panda-tenders-his-resignation-letter-to-lok-sabha-speaker/odia)

Read: [ Baijayant Panda Tries ‘Tit For Tat’, Allegations Fall Flat](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/baijayant-panda-tries-tit-for-tat-allegations-fall-flat/odia)

**2. Bijepur By-Poll: **
The high voltage Bijepur by-poll and tug of war mainly between ruling BJD and its political bête noire resulted in the victory of BJD candidate Rita Sahu, widow of consecutively three-time Congress MLA late Subal Sahu. While victorious BJD bagged 102871 votes, BJP got 60938 votes and Congress could garner only 10274 votes. Pertinent to note that VVPAT was used for the first time along with EVM in any Odisha elections. (Results declared on February 28)

Read: [First Time In Odisha: VVPAT With EVM To Be Used In Bijepur By-Poll](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/first-time-in-odisha-vvpat-with-evm-to-be-used-in-bijepur-by-poll)

Read: [Newly-Elected Bijepur MLA Rita Sahu Calls On BJD Supremo At Naveen Niwas](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/newly-elected-bijepur-mla-rita-sahu-calls-on-bjd-supremo-at-naveen-niwas/odia)

Read: [ The 4 Major Blunders Of BJP Before Bijepur Bypoll](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/the-4-major-blunders-of-bjp-before-bijepur-bypoll-/odia)

**3. Niranjan Patnaik Becomes New PCC President: **
Senior Congressman and former PCC chief Niranjan Patnaik was appointed as the new President of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) on April 19. He replaced Prasad Harichandan. Three senior leaders Naba Das (senior MLA), Pradeep Majhi (former MP) and Chiranjibi Biswal (senior MLA) were also appointed as working presidents. Rahul Gandhi’s decision came soon after meeting former PCC president Prasad Harichandan.

Read: [ Niranjan Patnaik Appointed President Of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/niranjan-patnaik-appointed-president-of-odisha-pradesh-congress-committee-/odia)

Read: [ New Odisha PCC Chief Niranjan Patnaik & Team Accorded Rousing Reception After Arrival From New Delhi](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/new-odisha-pcc-chief-niranjan-patnaik-team-accorded-rousing-reception-after-arrival-from-new-delhi/odia)

**4. Aparajita Sarangi Joins BJP: **
Former Odisha cadre IAS officer Aparajita Sarangi joined BJP and was welcomed by BJP national president Amit Shah at his residence in New Delhi on November 27. She opted for a political career deserting her lucrative job as a bureaucrat midway as she preferred VRS for quenching the thirst of her new found obsession.

Read: [Former Odisha-Cadre IAS Officer Aparajita Sarangi Joins BJP](https://ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/former-odisha-cadre-ias-officer-aparajita-sarangi-joins-bjp)

Read: [IAS Officer Aparajita Sarangi’s Voluntary Retirement Accepted, Confirms Joining Politics Soon](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/ias-officer-aparajita-sarangi-s-voluntary-retirement-accepted-confirms-joining-politics-soon)

Read: [Aparajita Admits Groupism In Odisha BJP Leadership, Video Goes Viral](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/aparajita-admits-groupism-in-odisha-bjp-leadership-video-goes-viral)

**5. Dilip Ray & Bijoy Mohapatra Quit BJP: **
Senior BJP MLA from Rourkela assembly seat and former Union Minister Dilip Ray and also his senior colleague Bijoy Mohapatra quit BJP together on the same day (November 30). Just prior to tendering resignation from the primary membership of the saffron party, Dilip Ray submitted his resignation from Odisha Assembly with Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat taking umbrage at BJP.

Read: [BJP MLA Dilip Ray Resigns From Odisha Assembly](https://ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/bjp-mla-dilip-ray-resigns-from-odisha-assembly)

Read: [Odisha: Senior BJP Leader Dilip Ray Quits Party, Leaves For USA](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/odisha-senior-bjp-leader-dilip-ray-quits-party-leaves-for-usa)

Read: [ After Dilip Ray, Senior BJP Leader Bijoy Mohapatra Also Quits Party](https://ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/after-dilip-ray-senior-bjp-leader-bijoy-mohapatra-also-quits-party)

Read: [Bijoy Mohapatra Explains In Social Media Why He Left BJP](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/bijoy-mohapatra-explains-in-social-media-why-he-left-bjp)

**6. PM Modi’s Odisha Visits: **
As BJP has made Odisha its target and has been working on its much-hyped Mission Odisha 120+, the party’s face Narendra Modi visited this State thrice this year.

While on May 26, he addressed the ‘Jankalyan Samabesh’ of BJP in Odisha’s old capital city Cuttack, on September 22 laid foundation stone for the revival of Talcher Fertilizer Plant and dedicated Jharsuguda Airport to nation apart from several others developmental projects in Sundargarh district and on December 24 dedicated the new campus of IIT, Bhubaneswar and laid foundation stones for several projects cost about Rs14,500 crores besides unveiling commemorative postal stamps on Paika Rebellion.

Read: [Live Updates On PM Modi’s “Jankalyan Samabesh” In Odisha’s Cuttack City](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/live-updates-on-pm-modi-s-jankalyan-samabesh-in-odisha-s-cuttack-city)

Read: [PM Modi Lays Foundation For Talcher Fertilizer Plant’s Revival, Assures Start Of Production In 36 Months](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/pm-modi-lays-foundation-for-talcher-fertilizer-plant-s-revival-assures-start-of-production-in-36-months-)

Read: [PM Modi Dedicates Jharsuguda’s “Veer Surendra Sai Airport” To Nation, First Flight Takes Off](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/pm-modi-dedicates-jharsuguda-s-veer-surendra-sai-airport-to-nation-first-flight-takes-off)

Read: [Talcher Plant & Jharsuguda Airport: All Parties Now Claim Credit](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/talcher-plant-jharsuguda-airport-all-parties-now-claim-credit)

Read: [ Centre Committed To Odisha’s Development, It’ll Soon Be A Petroleum Hub & Engine Of New India: PM Modi](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/for-the-first-time-centre-has-given-so-much-importance-to-odisha-s-development-pm-modi-)

Read: [PM Modi Takes Naveen Govt Head-On On Developmental Issues](https://www.ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/pm-modi-takes-naveen-govt-head-on-on-developmental-issues)


Related Articles

Back to top button