SAI International Students Cheer For Junior Hockey World Cup With Dilip Tirkey

Bhubaneswar: Odisha is hosting Hockey Men’s Junior World Cup 2021 from November 24. SAI International today welcomed former Captain of Indian Hockey team Dilip Tirkey to cheer for the International event here in Odisha.

While addressing the gathering Tirkey said that he was delighted to see the welcoming response of the students, he also appreciated the class apart sporting infrastructure the School provided to its students.

Chairperson Silpi Sahoo presented a token of appreciation to the guest and said, by having such guests in the school motivates students, aligns them with sporting fraternity and provide an array of exposure.

“Our Chief Minister Naveen Pattnaik has envisioned making Odisha the sports capital of India and has equipped the Kalinga Stadium with all possible modern sporting infrastructures,” she added.

At SAI International, games and sport-based activities are a dominant part of the curriculum with an interest in providing a meaningful and culturally situated sporting experience to students. Sport in education is among the most popularly implemented and researched pedagogical model worldwide, she said.

Referring to the Founder-Chairman Dr Bijaya Kumar Sahoo, the Chairperson said, “Dr Bijaya Kumar’s vision to make a better India through education can be attained with the holistic development of the body, mind and spirit through the amalgamation of sports and education.” Sahoo also announced that Dillip Tirkey will be the Sports Mentor of students of SAI International.

Students of SAI International performed school band with JAI Ho! song for sixteen countries, cheering and wishing them for best of lock for the upcoming FIH Men’s Junior World Cup Hockey 2021. Senior Principal, SAI International School, Nilakantha Panigrahi and Principal Secondary Prakash Kumar Sahoo also present in the event.

All the matches of the Men’s Junior Hockey World Cup will be played in Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar with the finals on December 5, 2021. Total 16 teams from across the globe will fight for the trophy at the prestigious hockey tournament.Reigning champions India have been placed in Pool B alongside Canada, France and Poland. The 18-member team-India includes three players from Odisha; Abhishek Lakra, Sudeep Chirmako and Sunil Jojo.