Live Updates Of Polling For Patkura Assembly Seat

20 July 2019


Kendrapara: People of Patkura Assembly constituency in Kendrapara lined up outside polling booths to elect their representative today. While a tough fight is expected between BJD candidate Sabitri Agarwalla, wife of Late Bed Prakash Agarwalla and BJP heavyweight Bijoy Mohapatra, Congress’ Jayanta Mohanty is also hopeful of securing the seat.

3 pm- 61% voting recorded by 3PM

1 pm- 42% polling recorded

11 am- 26% voting recorded by 11 AM.

9 am- As of 9 am, 12% polling had been recorded.

8:45 am- Voting halted at booth No. 307 in Kinilo following a n altercation between polling agent and presiding officer

8:30 am- Voting delayed at booth No. 132 (Janra Balimula), booth No. 128 (Teheda) & booth No. 300 (Bedari) due to technical problems

7:30 am- Collector Samarth Verma said on Friday, "We have multiplied forces like paramilitary personnel, micro observers in all sensitive booths." 

7:25 am- 309 polling stations in place and 1700 personnel have been deployed to man them. 138 critical polling stations have been identified too where CAPF, mobile patrol team and EVM guards have been deployed.

7:20 am- As per directions issued by Election Commission of India, indelible ink being marked on the middle fingers of the voters' left hands. If need arises of repoll in any booth, then the elector's ring finger will be marked.

7:15 am- As per reports, voting delayed at booth no.278 due to technical glitches in the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM). 

7 am- Voting began at 7 AM amidst tight security arrangements and a total of 2, 44,747 voters are set to decide the fate of 10 candidates who are in the fray.