Voting Begins In Balasore & Tirtol Assembly Constituencies

Bhubaneswar: Voting for the by-election in the Balasore Sadar and Tirtol Assembly constituencies commenced at 7 am today. Jointly a total of 4.5 lakh voters will be picking their representatives in the lower house amongst 15 candidates.

For smooth polling, 90 platoons of force, 6 company Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) and 250 police officers have been deployed. Additionally, CCTV cameras have been fixed in each booth which is also capable of webcasting.

In view of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, additional measures have been taken. Apart from usual security measures near the polling booth, the booths have been sanitized. All polling personnel were screened and only healthy polling personnel have been deployed, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Sushil Kumar Lohani had informed yesterday.

Apart from these steps, polling personnel have been provided with Covid kit which includes, face shield, face mask, sanitiser, gloves, Personal Protection Equipment (PPE) kits for additional safety.

A total of 3500 polling officers, 800 ASHA workers and volunteers have been deployed in polling booths. They ensure that voters adhere to social distancing, must have a face mask on and wash hands before entering the polling booth. They are then thermally scanned and provided with a glove.

The CEO had clarified that in the event of any voter found to be having higher temperature or any other symptoms during scanning will be segregated and issued a token so that he/she can cast his/her vote in the last hour so that he/she doesn’t mingle with other voters. These voters can cast their vote from 5 PM to 6 PM.

The voting will come to an end at 6 PM today. The results will be declared on October 10.

Also Read: Balasore, Tirtol All Set For Bypoll Tomorrow Amid Covid-19 Pandemic

Visuals From Tirtol Assembly Constituency By-Election