Odisha CM Inaugurates 7 Power Projects

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today inaugurated six high power grid substations in Rayagada, Nabarangpur, Kalahandi, Sambalpur, Keonjhar and Khordha districts and Bolangir-Kesinga 220 KV transmission line via video conferencing.

The Chief Minister said that the high power grid substations and the 220 KV double circuit transmission line will be helpful in providing quality and reliable power to people.

Rs 450 crore has been invested for the aforementioned projects.

The Chief Minister said that electricity is the lifeline of development, it is as essential as water for all.

He appealed to people not to waste electricity and put it to proper use.

Patnaik said that the new system will be especially beneficial for farmers, students and women of Kalahandi, Rayagada, Nabarangpur, Keonjhar, Sambalpur and Khordha districts. Small industries and irrigation projects will also benefit, he added.

Informing that the State government had started the Odisha Distribution System Strengthening Project at an outlay of Rs 3800 crore to provide quality power to the people, the Chief Minister said that under this project as of now 430 numbers of 33/11 KV substations have been operationalized.

In order to do away with the low-voltage problem in the State, the government in the fourth phase of this project an outlay of Rs 1800 crore has been made, he added.

Participating in the programme Rural Development Minister Sushant Singh in Sambalpur, Public Enterprises Minister Ashok Panda in Khordha, Energy Minister Dibya Shankar Mishra in Kalahandi, Skill Development Minister Premanand Nayak in Keonjhar and Gunupur MLA Raghunath Gamang in Rayagada opined that development of power infrastructure in the State has accelerated development process in the State. They were of high praise for the leadership of the Chief Minister.

Secretary to CM (5T) VK Pandian moderated the programme.

Chief Secretary Suresh Chandra Mahapatra and other senior officials were present during the programme.

While Principal Secretary Energy Nikunja Dhal gave the welcome address, OPTCL Managing Director offered the vote of thanks.